madchickenwoman

By Madchickenwoman

May Revels

Am struggling to keep up with blips! So a quick job of processing some of today's photographs ( may not be of the best quality but I still have the weekend to process so what the hell!) Here is the  giant Tavy, who is the feature of the Calstock May revels whose full story you can read here! He processes into the village from the bottom of my terrace, followed by the  local Rubber band playing drums, trumpets, harps and recorders  and the locals with hats decorated with flowers, as they dance down with him on a 3 step jump and occasional twirl dance! Once he arrives on the village green there is a play with the dragon, knight, man dressed as woman and Dr as usual on a topical theme! The giant then  boards a boat with the locals singing farewell as he  sails down the  river!
Virtually the whole village turns out for this event, whatever the weather, which was once more wet! Vegan Jo came to mine for a coffee before we set off, friend never made it as too tired. I weaved my way through the crowds to get in front of the giant and photographed his antics as he made his way into the village.He was on form this year and was peering in doorways and windows, both of houses and cars! Also accosting the bystanders and chasing the local children, much to their enjoyment!  I unexpectedly bumped into an old school colleague who had come down to video the event, and after he said how about a swift drink, as I had lost track of all my other friends I agreed! Once in the pub he realised his money was in his car by the station so I ended up paying, then  he got pulled into joining in the singing by the local village songsters - old Cornish songs sung with gusto and depth of feeling. He is known by them as a fellow folk/shanty singer so he stood no chance, and actually needed no encouragement! So I stood by the bar and took photographs and was reminded of why I love this village so much. There is a real community here, and more characters than you can shake a stick at! 
Once I had seen my old colleague to the station, on a whim I called on the Camera man - we shared a glass of wine and caught up on each others news -  I am in a strange mood so we shared our angst as well as our  love of photography, gardens and plants! He was going on an archaeological walk on Dartmoor the following day and asked if I fancied it - I did! So tomorrow is planned - set off at 10 am for a wet 5 mile walk and picnic! 
I will backblip the weekend at some point - it was very wet and had highs and lows! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.