and through the wire...

By hesscat

Time... for Change?

Firstly, don't panic this isn't a party political blip! No party political views will be expressed here, I hope.

It's WideAngleWednesday and the theme is "Time". Last night I was googling Time, Clocks and Edinburgh and decided my best subject would be the Floral Clock in Princes Street Gardens. I tried to confirm the clock would be there and planted, but could only find what the theme was. I later noticed an SNP bandwagon would be in the Mound early in the morning not 100 metres away from the clock so I though I would plan my day to see both.

So a bus day ticket was bought (£1 extra on the blip expenses account) and low and behold they had not begun planting the clock yet, or at least there was nothing growing above ground. So instead I hung about the Mound waiting for Nicky...

Whatever my political views on the deficit, NHS, welfare and what parties appeal to me, I feel surely now it's about Time... for Change to our electoral system. For some time I have not been keen on FPtP and favoured PR. It was a shame Lib/Dem were not able to negotiate that 5 years ago as maybe we would not be where we are now, where people have to vote for parties they don't support or feel their vote is not worth being cast and a party being on the verge of dominating a country - it does not give a fair reflection of the electorate's views.

But on the other hand it shows the system is flawed and may make people change it. Lab/Tories have protected it thinking they could always get a majority (maybe they will) but I hope whatever happens tomorrow, the next 5 years will see a change to that!

Apologies for the serious blip, the Floral Clock would have been here in it's splendour had they grown it by May!!! Many thanks to chantler63 for hosting this challenge again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.