Beeeze

By beeeze

Fence

A fabulous wedding yesterday, just the most wonderful day.

We had a wander around Arlington and Bibury this morning before a hearty hotel breakfast. I really loved this fence, but in truth I could've blipped any of the photos I took. It is definitely the most disgustingly photogenic village in Britain.

This fence goes around Rack Isle, a meadow next to the river Colne, which is bounded on three sides by water and which is seasonally flooded. This meadow provides a great habitat for water loving plants and birds. The island is associated with Arlington Mill as it was used to hang out the cloth on racks to dry, hence the name Rack Isle.

The intriguing thing about the fence is that it appears that you can remove any of the rails at any point, presumably to allow you to let cattle in or out of the meadow. It may be that it's a common thing, but I can't say that I've ever seen it before.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.