My Life With Luna

By chrisA

Dunwich Cliffs, Suffolk

During 2001-2004 I studied for the City and Guilds Creative Embroidery award.   One of the pieces in the final part was to make a wall hanging using hand dyed fabric, hand and machine stitching and hand made embellishments.  
I chose to interpret a much loved photograph of Dunwich Cliffs which can be found along the Suffolk coast.  
The sky was painted onto the fabric, the trees made using a soluble fabric that was heavily machine embroidered in tree shapes then soaked in water to give the trees  and the layers of cliffs from hand dyed fabrics and hand made beads.   I machine embroidered the 'pebbles' onto hand dyed fabric and the foamy sea is sheer fabric frayed to look like the water swishing over the sand.  
It hung in my kitchen for many years and I just happened to come across it recently and thought it could be used as an emergency!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.