Lift Shaft

A blip prowl on the way to meet a client this morning produced this in Barcelona. Now in Rome airport having lunch.

Update re Rome Airport: Just confirmed that the area where I usually spend the last hours before my flight to Cairo including Gustavo's restaurant which featured in the rose shot not so long ago was destroyed by fire yesterday. No one was killed or injured but acrid smell has filtered through to the untouched areas where the shop assistants wear protective face masks. It was able to look down one of the charred corridors. Fires and their aftermaths are very unsettling.

Update Two: The source of the fire that became a blazing inferno and quickly destroyed the whole of Terminal 3 (the pictures I've now seen are shocking) was a short circuit in a fridge in Gustavo's restaurant itself. . . . it occurred just after midnight when the place was largely empty of people. I would have been sitting close to the fridge just a little over 24 hours later. Here's a shot I took only a couple of weeks ago at Gustavo's. . . . https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2038334840813652325

I had been looking forward to showing the staff the last leg of the rose's trip. At least I know they are alive and well somewhere.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.