Rowers Beware

A warning alert has been put out after a rower is in hospital  with the life threatening Weil's disease after capsizing his boat in the river Cam. The Cam has been tested positive and the disease is often contracted through rat's urine, the river banks being the worst areas. This is very worrying indeed as many students traditionally jump in the river to celebrate the end of exams. Also the May Bumps, (held on the river in June) will also see many people in the water. There is still a bathing place in the Cam at Sheep's Green where I learned to swim in my schooldays, also Grassy Banks, Fen Ditton where many children go to swim. I do hope this message is taken heed of. The boat in this shot is on the upper river and I took my daughter's dog for a walk along there. She has gone to a spa session today with her daughter A hot stone massage is part of the treatment, good for circulation, various aches and pains and stress, so I'm informed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.