A new dawn for Scottish politics...

I'm posting this on Saturday, the day after we found out the Conservatives have won a majority government.  I had a few debates yesterday with English friends who blamed the Tory majority on the overwhelming vote for the SNP in Scotland.  If you feel this way, please do the arithmetic.  Even if all of Scotland's 59 seats had been won by Labour, it wouldn't have been enough to win a majority.  To win Westminster a party has to win England, which Labour have failed to do.  This Tory victory is not Scotland's fault.

I could go on at length why I think Labour lost England this time round, for much the same reasons they lost Scotland in the 2007 Scottish Parliamentary elections and England in the 2010 general election.  I have no desire to enter into any more political debate today so I have taken off comments.  I'm sure a good Saturday will sort me out.  

And it is Saturday - the weekend!  Enjoy!!

I leave you with the wise words of the late Jack Layton, leader of the New Democratic Party in Canada, a left of centre party who just won a majority government in my home province which has had one form or another of conservative governments since the 1920s.  Anything is possible!

“My friends, love is better than anger. Hope is better than fear. Optimism is better than despair. So let us be loving, hopeful and optimistic. And we'll change the world.”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.