Visiting my friends

Whenever I go to London, I'm tempted to go into the British Museum to see the magnificent Lewis Chessmen.  They feel like old friends - and I hadn't been up to this wonderful section of the museum for a couple of years. Down to see Damien Lewis in the matinee performance of "American Buffalo", I couldn't resist popping in before lunch. (brilliant Italian restaurant near Seven Dials - Rossodisera !  don't miss it.)

The carved walrus ivory chessmen were discovered on the Isle of Lewis in the Western Isles in 1831. The hoard consisted of 93 pieces - 73 chessmen, 14 large gaming counters and an elaborate belt buckle. It is thought that they were originally Norwegian.

11 of the pieces are in the National Museum of Scotland - but the rest grace the room next to the Sutton Hoo treasures and The Fishpool Hoard (1237 gold coins and jewellery).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.