Sunday Afternoon Hike

May is history month in South Australia, and we signed up for a hike up Brownhill Creek and Ellison's Gully, to view the old Mitcham Waterworks (or what's left of them).  This was intended to be the main water supply for Mitcham, Unley, and right on in to Adelaide.

It was first built in the 1860's I believe, but by 1930 it was obvious that there wasn't enough water, so the works were abandoned.

This Gully is so beautiful and the Rower and I want to go back on our own so we can take our time and explore it thoroughly.

Because of the recent heavy rain, the creek was running, and as you can see, the grass is as green as.......grass.

The only hairy moment was crossing the creek via a plank less than 12 inches wide.  Those who know me know that I am extremely good at falling over and making a fool of my self, but many hands ensured I didn't get wet.

Here's another view.

I took the new camera with us, and I think I'm in love.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.