Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Par-Goat-Tee On Mother's Day

“I saw goats. A party can’t be all bad when you have goats.”
― Mary Jane Hathaway, Persuasion, Captain Wentworth and Cracklin'

This isn't  mom! and I'm pretty much missing the party.  But I'll join it later. 

I brought my laptop to Starbucks because my Internet is not working properly. I have been here since 9 am so I can use the free wi-fi. 

My brother and sister-in- law arrived from New Mexico around lunchtime to visit mom.  I  have stayed here, trying to catch up on all sorts of business things for both mom and me, short of getting on our banking sites (which I have do do on my secure network).

So I am going to meet them at the restaurant at 5:45 for dinner.  It's been a long day and I still have much to accomplish.  However, I will take some time before I leave to do a few fun things for myself.  I plan on playing Lumosity, something to which I subscribe. I both enjoy it and use it to try to keep my brain engaged.  I also want to read the Tucson newspaper online, at the very least the headlines and opinion pages. 

It isn't taking a lot of time out of an eight hour day, but negotiating better phone and television bills for instance for mom, has to take precedence.  I don't mind.  I like being a wheeler and dealer.  That's one thing at which I'm pretty effective!

It's a Mother's Day gift that can make a difference in a big way and I know she will appreciate it a lot.  My brother the goat, who blows in for a few hours  every five months or so, may think I'm a donkey today for not having spent more time with her on Mother's Day. But mom will be grateful tomorrow when I give her the good news on how much money I will have saved her every month.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.