An alien presence

After overnighting in Wellington I went for an early morning walk. Near the Central Library, I saw once again the sculpture by Neil Dawson ("Ferns", 1998) which I blipped just over three years ago. I included a little bit of information about it.

This morning, with the autumn sun rising and striking the sculpture and the buildings the silvered ball (3.4m in diameter) appears golden in parts.

It certain seems somewhat alien in this setting, yet it is designed to show off the silver fern, which is a recognised symbol of New Zealand.

Back home again. Young L and his mother are having dinner at the marae where he is staying for two nights, and Mr H is joining Granny and Grandpa for his dinner.

Postscript
I have added as an extra an alternative view of the sculpture

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.