Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

Newborn

The patio door has the function of being my front door although, officially, it should be one that leads into my perpetually disorganised kitchen.  It's the one which is most practical.  On my way out this afternoon I was about to put my hand on the handle when I noticed a seething mass of baby spiders. 

Spiders don't upset me at all but, if I'd grabbed the handle without noticing them it would have made me jump! Having been through the door numerous times during the course of the morning it amazed me how quickly the little creatures must have hatched and migrated, on mass, onto the handle.  They dispersed from their ball when I opened the door, but remained on their surprisingly vast web. After my photo, which shows only a small proportion of them, it didn't take much to brush up the web, complete with the spiderlings, and transfer it to a nearby rose bush.  

They are the offspring of the Common Garden Spider, Araneus diadematus, so the rose bush is a more appropriate home.  There wouldn't be much in the house for them to thrive on. 

Better hundreds of spiders outside the house than in!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.