Purple orchid on Rodborough Common

At the last moment I decided to drive up on to Rodborough Common, which lies on the hillside on the far side of the Golden Valley.  I had it in mind that I might hear and see some skylarks which we don't get on this side of the valley given the wholly different vegetation.

The common is managed by the National Trust as a traditional limestone grassland habitat which has several rare plants including this purple orchid.  I had read in the local paper that the cows had been released on to Rodborough Common and onto Minchinhampton Common which are directly connected to each other on the top of the Cotswold ridge between two valleys.

The weather was bright but somewhat cloudy and with a brisk breeze.  Within a hundred yards of the roadside I saw two swallows flying just a few yards above my head which really cheered me up, but i didn't hear any skylarks.  As i walked I spotted this special purple orchid which is found regularly on the common so I decided to photograph it.  This flower was close to some wild cowslips which are also common here and also a beautiful tiny little blue flower, which I have added to my 'Extra photos' today.  You will notice how small the blue flower is nestling in the grass, which hasn't been grazed by the cows yet.  I don't know what the blue flower is called, so any help with identification is much appreciated.  (I am wondering whether Sheenagh will be able to help?   In fact I didn't see any cows or horses at all, which is unusual.  Perhaps they haven;'t all been brought to the common by their owners, who are Commoners with the ancient rights to graze their animals here on the common.

Whilst lying prone in the grass taking pictures I at last heard a skylark and rolling over onto my back I spotted one hovering hundreds of feet up above me.  I smiled and got up and watched it for a couple of minutes and then saw it slowly come back down to the ground.  I stared intently for a few minutes and then a big dog appeared apparently wanting me to throw a ball for it.  Its owner walked over to 'rescue' me and after enquiring about my camera gear we struck up a delightful conversation about being photographers.

Melanie and her husband only recently moved to the area of Selsley Common, on the next ridge on the far side of the Nailsworth valley.  I mentioned about blipping and she may view this entry, in which case 'Hello!'  

But after Melanie walked on I had fun trying to follow a few skylarks on the ground but I need to be a bit more discreet and wait for them rather than trying to approach them too overtly.  If you want to see a skylark I blipped one here in early April with a link to a Flickr gallery of other shots, including some in flight..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.