Diver Driver

By diverdriver

Clunton & Clunbury, Clungunford & Clun............

According to AE Housman in his poem, 'A Shropshire Lad', are the quietest places under the sun.

Quiet they may be but the locals are not a friendly bunch.

On my way home today from a job down in Herefordshire - a very pleasant run down despite the rain - I decided, after driving very carefully and slowly through the small village of Clun, to pull in to a tarmac space at the side of the road just north of the village. It looked to me as if it had been the main road at one point and was now a lay-by.

I stopped to take this Blipfoto as there was another chap there doing some filming of the view across the hills, and to have a quick sandwich. 

Not long after I stopped I was approached by a lady from one of the houses nearby and asked if I had a problem. No, said I, but thank you for asking.

To which she replied, 'This is NOT a public lay-by!' To which I said I was sorry but had not noticed any 'No Parking' signs nor signs saying it was a private road.

'Well this is NOT a public place and you've parked right across my drive' said the lady and I'm not quite sure what her eyesight was like as I was nowhere near her drive.

I apologised profusely and said that I would pack my sandwich away and find somewhere else to eat it and that, due to the extremely un-friendly attitude of the local residents, I would make it my plan to never return to their village again!

Pity really as it was quite pretty and until I met her, quite quiet.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.