Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Shells

There is something about shells.... They've fascinated me from an early age. Dad used to bring them back from his travels around the world with Ferranti, and we'd listen to the sound of the sea on far off shores in them.
For as long as I can remember I've picked shells up from beaches and brought them home. I've got some of Freddie's from her round the world yacht race. Some of my Grandmother's from goodness knows where - she spent her early married life in Australia. A bag of cowries from my teacher aunt's school kit - they were used for counting. Some of my own, from holidays here and abroad and others gathered throughout my life.
More memories of people, places and adventures.
This collection now rest in my bathroom and periodically have a bath which awakens their colours and my memories.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.