Skyroad

By Skyroad

Sea Pinks, Bullock Harbour

The cold snap has become an all-out break: heading below zero tonight apparently.

My first morning waking with the wean (and without the wife, who's off for a week on a business trip to Jamaica). He came into my room at around 7.a.m. I misread the clock though and thought it was 6. And he wouldn't give in to my entreaty to lie in for a little while.

After leaving him into the creche, I dithered in the house for awhile, went for a run in the park, then drove over to call on my mum, who is spending 2 weeks in the Dalkey respite unit.

Then I drove down to Bullock Harbour, in the early winterish dusk, gulls riding the freezing winds above my head.

I climbed on the rocks, took some shots and gazed for a little while at the rosy clouds (heavily perfumed with nostalgia), the big ships on the horizon, till my hands and face began to sting and go numb.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.