Scharwenka

By scharwenka

Part-Union Cake

A surprising afternoon! We were invited to a local street party...

The surprise was fourfold. Given my antisocial nature, it is amazing that my spouse and I were asked to join in. And we were astonished that some loyal citizens had got their act together enough to get things organised. Fourfold? See later...

But, organise they did, and very effectively at that. The festivities were centred on a little crescent just round the corner from us. One couple who live there are both professional colleagues of mine, and we know some of the others reasonably well. Participants arrived bearing large quantities of delicious food and booze, all coordinated by another of the residents.

Next surprise: the sun shone throughout our time in the street, apparently the only time the clouds parted significantly during the entire celebratory weekend.

To my astonishment, I even enjoyed myself quite significantly. Surprise four!

There must be many entries on Blipfoto of Diamond Jubilee parties, and I was certain that I should not make my submission for the day a snapshot of our party itself. But the cake in my picture looked colourful enough to show (and "ate well", as they say). You see that it has already been attacked, and I had to work fast to get a shot before it was demolished. I called it "part-Union", because it's not quite an exact representation of the Union Flag. My goodness, it's a brave attempt, though!

If you want to see more of the party itself, look here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.