Life through the lens...

By ValC

Elizabeth our Queen

This group of books was given to me as a child.
The one in the centre "Elizabeth our Queen" written by Richard Dimbleby, was given to me on my 9th birthday 21/4/1953 by my Aunt. (I share the same birthday with the Queen, though not the same year)
The Prologue contains part of the speech broadcast across the world on 21 April 1947, the Queen's 21st Birthday.She was in Capetown at the time.

"I declare before you all that my whole life,whether it be long or short, shall be devoted to your service and the service of our great imperial family to which we all belong, but I shall not have the strength to carry out this resolution unless you join in it with me, as I now invite you to do.

I know that your support will be unfailingly given. God help me to make good my vow and God bless all of you who are willing to share it."

I wonder if she ever imagined she would be celebrating her Diamond Jubilee today, and the crowds of people who came out in London to wish her well.

God Bless Her.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.