Air Ambulance and Museum

I went to the Museum this morning after an absence of a few weekends, although I have done a couple of group events during the past weeks. I had it in my calendar but when I got there I wasn't scheduled to be working today! Anyway, they said my presence was very welcome and so I looked after the Southern end of the display hangar which has the Airborne Forces display including the reconstruction of a Horsa Glider cockpit (ongoing) and the history timeline for the Whittle jet engine, Javelin etc. It was good and it made a change from doing the Vulcan cockpit tours, plus I went on my bike :-)

As the morning went on a couple of others turned up so I left at 11:30 and nipped around to the airport terminal side of the airfield to grab a photo of the newly acquired Javelin FAW4, the only one in existence in the world now, which we obtained from RAF Leeming where it has been the gate guard. I've added this as an additional photograph because the air ambulance taking off was the better shot and it includes the Jet Age Museum in the background. You can see the Vulcan cockpit and a bit of the shrouded Trident which is undergoing the same treatment that the Vulcan has just been through.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.