Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

Wey Canal

The dogs needed a walk so I braved another soaking car and took them down to the Wey Canal at Ripley.  They can run free and swim there. There are plenty of narrow boats around, some of which had moored up along the bank and were busy starting the barbecues.  One woman watched my mutts closely and I could see her sigh of relief when I called them to heel. I told her that the odour of the sausages was wonderful and that I might steal one before I let the dogs near.  She smiled and told me of the disappearing chicken, last seen flying past in the mouth of a Labrador. 

Further up the the track I found a group of walkers from London City, who would go no further, clothes obviously straight off the store shelves for the trip and signs of the first blisters.  This is only a small part of the herd of cows that graze along the riverside. This lot had decided to sit on the footpath and the walkers were as angry as they were scared.  I walked through calmly with the dogs close to me, stopping to photographs as I went to prove that they weren't dangerous, but I don't think they believed me.  Lesson... when you see a sign that says animals are grazing.. sometime they are!    

:) I don't go walking in London because I don't like the traffic.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.