BacardiBev

By BacardiBev

Burham On Sea Pier

Before setting off for home I decided to take a walk along the prom to see what I could find of interest

Although Burnham-On-Sea Pier is Britain's shortest pier and comprises no more than a shoreward end pavilion on concrete piles, it is still a lovely structure that, unlike a lot of its bigger counterparts, still retains its Edwardian features and elegance.

Built between 1911-1914, it is one of the UK's oldest illuminated seaside piers and was the first concrete structure of its kind in Europe. When it was first built engineers from around Britain came to marvel at it.

Many locals thought that the huge tides in Bridgwater Bay would soon sweep it into the sea - but they were to be proven wrong. The concrete is extremely strong and is largely made up from Granite chippings shipped from Penryn in Cornwall. This same material is used in maintenance work to this day.

According to the British Heritage Trust, the design of Burnham-On-Sea pier has associations with the famous Bristol engineer Isambard Kingdom Brunel (1806-1859)

The pavilion stands in the centre of the esplanade and is, quite rightly, very much the central feature of Burnham-On-Sea's pleasantly uncluttered seafront.

 Extra photo is of St Andrews Church

The 14th Century Tower of St Andrews Church stands at 24 metres high and it leans by almost 1 metre or 2.4 degrees.

The movement occurred soon after the tower was erected but it is perfectly safe and stable.

By comparison the tower of Pisa leans by more than 5 metres.

 

Very many thanks for all the wonderful comments, hearts and stars you all gave to my Sunset on yesterday’s blip, I really appreciate every one of them.

I have to admit I am quite overwhelmed by all your responses and I never thought my blips would be in the top ten of the popular pages.

I think I will have my work cut out to equal it again.

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.