Country File

By marypot

Waiting for tomorrow

I went back to work after the half term holidays. It was a bit odd and I couldn't manage all I hoped to do. Still made it to two meetings at either end of the county and got some office work done, including making a start on a training presentation I'm due to deliver next Monday. People are asking how I am and truth be told I don't really know. I'm just numb and a shadow of myself, shuffling through the days and trying to put a brave face on it where possible, looking for distractions. My brain tries to work, but if I meet a hurdle, my thoughts simply shut down and I have to give up. Even basic decisions can be too much. My mind is really on tomorrow - my dad's funeral. All the planning is done now. Nothing else I can do but wait and hope that some sleep comes before morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.