SLPlearning

By SLPlearning

Everything is Beautiful..

in it's own way... so goes the song.  I found it hard to believe it was the first of June today-it still feels like March, although that's probably because we've been busy and are still busy.

Busy writing... but behind the scenes.  It's time that takes us away from face to face work but sometimes it has to be done or does it.  I'm always reminded when we have to write in a language that excludes people of the scene in the Shawshank Redemption when Red is at his final parole board and he's asked if he feels rehabilitated.  His response is quite something..

Red: Rehabilitated?  Well, now, let me see. You know, I don't have any idea what that means.
Interviewer - Uh, well, it means you're ready to rejoin society -
 Red: -- I know what you think it means, sonny. To me, it's just a made up word, a politician's word, so that young fellas like yourself can wear a suit and a tie and have a job. What do you really wanna know? Am I sorry for what I did?
Interviewer: Well, are you?
Red: There's not a day goes by I don't feel regret. Not because I'm in here, or because you think I should. I look back on the way I was then, a young, stupid kid who committed that terrible crime. I wanna talk to him. I wanna try to talk some sense to him -- tell him the way things are. But I can't. That kid's long gone and this old man is all that's left. I gotta live with that. 
Rehabilitated? It's just a bullshit word. So you go on and stamp your form, sonny, and stop wasting my time. Because to tell you the truth, I don't give a s..t.

I can relate to that..all that wisdom..lost in a world of language that keeps people out or in depending on which side of the fence you're on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.