"Be careful of what you wish for."

Dear Diary,

I can just hear my grandmother saying that!  Three days ago we were baking in 90 degree heat and parched for rain.  Now, in our third day of drenching downpours and 45 degree days I think we are well and truly watered!

I had to have a fire in the wood stove last night it was so cold!  But these extremes seem to be the norm now.  I even heard that the summit of Mount Washington got snow yesterday!  Not an auspicious way to begin June.

Still, the glistening water droplets on my thoroughly drenched pansies were like tiny jewels this morning and today promises lightening skies.  I will give thanks to the end of our May drought and dangerous fire conditions and I think I will keep my wishes to myself from now on!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.