Chickens for sale

Today, being the first Monday of the month was the monthly market in Saintes. My friend Jan was buying some new chickens, so I went along to watch. She only wanted four Warrens, the brown ones, which were ten euros each, but as she had a fifty euro note on her, decided to get five!
She reported that when she got home there were two eggs in the box, they were laying already! I was impressed with that as I've always had to wait a week or two for them to settle in and start!
There were several chickens tied by pieces of string on the top of each section, there were all different colours, and even soft fluffy ones, and in the next pen were turkeys and geese.
Mr F said he quite fancied having a young turkey, to give it a good life and then eat it at Christmas, but I know that I wouldn't be able to eat it, and I don't much like the thought of all the mess with feathers and such, so we didn't buy one!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.