Moments in a minor key

By Dcred

NANA'S MAGIC BOX

How many people remember the days when most of us rented our televisions? One of those memories from when I was very young was of my Grandparents Rediffusion set that took pride of place in the lounge, I was fascinated that to turn over between the then two choices of channel, BBC or ITV you would have to reach behind the living room curtains to turn a switch on the wall, it had five or six positions so you also had the BBC radio stations to choose from, the first song I ever remember sitting down and listening to came from Nana's magic box, "Catch a falling star" by Perry Como, that song & signs like the one above always remind me of childhood visits to Canterbury.
Forget Virgin, Sky & the fibre optic revolution, Rediffusion & Nana's telly were the first cable providers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.