Okay, I Needed A Laugh

Not sure why, but these little guys always make me laugh even if they're not doing anything.

I spent my entire day in court, listening to testimony and witnesses.  My job is to monitor the jury so there's no danger of anyone asking me anything.  Sometimes it's a challenge to stay focused but today a most unlikely critter caught my attention.  As the attorneys were walking back and forth pontificating, I noticed a very large fly on the carpet.  He was dangerously in the way and clearly dying of something.  He just kept staggering around not getting anywhere and certainly wasn't capable of flight.  Somehow he survived without getting stepped on although there were a couple of very close calls.  Please don't ask me why I started to care about his survival, but I did.  It's not that I love flies but I felt bad for him.  I think the older I get the less likely I am to want to watch any critter (except possibly an earwig) die so I don't kill spiders or wasps, or anything else that I once used to dispose of with impunity.  I generally try to catch and relocate them.

In my defense I did not name this poor fly or think about finding him a home.  I knew there was little I could do to help him but his confused and pitiful attempts to get somewhere were compelling.  Miraculously, he survived the closing arguments of the trial and as soon as the room cleared I scooped him up in a paper cup and took him outside where I laid him to rest, or to finish dying, in some shrubbery and scurried back in the courthouse before anyone noticed -- I hope.

It's a good thing I'm leaving on vacation Friday because obviously I need one.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.