Bees...

Bees are incredibly important to us. They pollinate so many of our food plants. I understand that they are under attack and in decline all over the world with numbers dramatically falling. Loss of habitat and the overuse of chemicals in the countryside is partially causing it.

Ironically, bees in the large towns and big cities are doing well. The huge acreage of organically grown gardens full of food for bees for most of the year are a perfect habitat for bees. And urban honey is tastier than that produced in the country I'm told.

This Cotoneaster Horizontalis in our garden has tiny little red flowers which are virtually ignored by humans but the bees absolutely love them and the bush was full of bees. Later in the year we will be rewarded by thousands of tiny red berries produced because of the work of the bees. Not good for humans, as far as I know, but help the birds get through the winter. I love it when a plan comes together.

It took ages to capture a close up of a bee. But I was quite pleased with this one taken with my iPhone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.