Ramblings from Zambia....

By dcafrica

Umanyano.....

or womens guild in English, from the local church here in Malawi.  I had to go and present a report today to one of the Presbytery meetings and these lovely ladies in their uniforms welcomed me!

Had a traumatic experience on the way to the meeting though.  As I was driving along I saw a crowd of people on the road ahead and realised there had been an accident.  I was stopped by the police and asked if I could take three 'victims' as they called them to the nearest district hospital which was not far away.  I agreed and they carried three badly injured people and literally threw them into the back of my vehicle.  Unfortunately one person had died.  These people were all from the same family and had been in a taxi which had collided with a minibus and the taxi had flown into the air and was about 50 metres from the minibus.  All the people in the taxi were badly hurt - I hope they survive.  I was glad to be able to assist them bearing in mind that we do not have emergency services here, and probably at the hospital there is little they could do for them.  The policeman and other relatives also came with me to the hospital.

Once again, I am thankful to have reached my destination safely!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.