The Drum & Monkey

 Mr P took part in a 16m mile race up and down the Surrey Hills - I left him to it. I was tired after yesterdays excesses round the University; I must have jogged  at least 5km over 2 races!.  Instead I tested the knees in a short walk through the Kent countryside looking for a geocache with the theme of  Kent Lost Pubs.  It is interesting to learn of these old pubs but disappointing that one cannot stop for a drink at the end of ones walk. You can tell this is Kent- see the oast houses in the distance.
The lost pub was the Drum & Monkey  which closed in 1966- now a house and one of the oldest buildings in the area. Surrounded by high hedges they have obviously got fed up with the lost pub tourists  so I could not sneak a photo of the lovely old timbered building , now called Drum & Monkey House.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.