m o s s t r o o p e r

By mosstrooper

Swans in Flight

I lost a subscriber over the weekend. Maybe this is because of my lack of commitment in recent weeks? I know I've been struggling to keep up in comments department but I hope that after I explain you will understand my reasons for this. I've been going out more during the day and choosing different subjects to photograph, but unfortunately time spent away from my home and garden means I have less time in the day to spend on blipfoto. If I take time out of my working day then I must make the time up on an evening. It's a decision that I've deliberated over a lot recently. Do I stay at home and take flower shots which allows me that extra time on blipfoto or do I sacrifice this time to create a more diverse and appealing journal? I felt my journal was becoming very repetitive and I was beginning to lose interest in the desperate need to upload every day! This is something which a number of my friends and fellow blippers have wrestled with recently. So with almost 500 entries I've come to the realization that it should be more about the quality of the subject I'm photographing rather than shooting anything as to not miss a day.

Blipfoto is a wonderful community and I've met some great people but it does demand a considerable amount of your time! This is something which I cannot always guarantee to give especially if I'm working to a deadline. I sometimes wonder if that's why so many retired folks repeatedly hit the spotlight page. Unless you're prepared to invest a ridiculous amount of time on here then you're never going to achieve this. Well that's my observation anyway.

I've also been trying to get out and exercise more instead of spending the majority of the day cooked up indoors staring at a computer screen. I was beginning to get fed-up with feeling tired and unhealthy all the time.

I greatly appreciate everyone who has subscribed to my journal and those of you who comment on a regular basis. I will try my utmost to reply to each and every one of you who takes the time to comment on my journal. I sincerely hope you will understand my reasons for moving in a different direction, for the time being anyway.

Thank you for your patience.

I had to pop into town again this morning so I made a detour to capture the other well known sculpture at The Civic Centre by David Wynne entitled Swans in Flight.

About the sculpture.

Situated in the central lawn on the northern-west side of the Civic Centre are cascading pools of water. The north pool has fountains, while the west pool contains a magnificent bronze sculpture by David Wynne of Swans in Flight, which is drenched by a jet of water. A composition of five swans rising from the water, this sculpture reflects the City's long established links with Scandinavia.
Mythology has inspired many poems on the theme of the creation of the five Nordic countries. Seedorf Pedersen's poem 'The Swans from the North' represents each country as a wild swan in the order of their creation as independent States - Denmark, Sweden, Finland, Norway and Iceland.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.