Parrot's Beak

This day has been busy and varied in every way. When I woke up this morning, I realized that I had never gotten under the covers all night. OilMan was already up  and outside digging holes in the rocky hill before it got hot. 

By the time I got myself up and out on the porch with my coffee and the newspaper, the fog was rolling in. I put on a sweater, changed my shoes and went to the store to get lunch for two Berkeley friends who were coming for lunch.

By the time I came out of the store, I was peeling off my sweater and wishing I had remembered my sunglasses, and by the time Beth and Linda arrived it was too hot and uncharacteristically humid to eat lunch outside. We spent a pleasant afternoon discussing all the multistory apartment buildings (with very little parking) being built in Berkeley, the traffic into San Francisco that has gotten so bad that people who have gone to the ballet, the opera and the theatre in The City for years are giving up their subscriptions, and the march of the subdivision  toward our little  homestead here. Where is the water for that going to come from?

After I waved good-bye to Beth and Linda I spent an hour trying to take a macro shot without a macro lens….not particularly satisfying, but my interest is piqued and I may look into the extension tubes favored by blippers in the southern hemisphere as a way to take better macro shots.

Just as I was realizing that all my macro shots were not only not macro, but not even very good, neighbors arrived with their weimaraner, Rudy, and lots of good gossip. We were sitting outside for awhile, but it got too cold out there, so we had to come inside.The weird weather is apparently the tailed of a tropical storm off the coast of Baja California, and has cycled through the seasons in one day with everything except rain.

Dinner will have to be leftover shrimp salad from lunch, and my blip will have to be a non macro close-up of a blossom on our lotus plant ( or parrot's beak) which flows over the wall next to the driveway.

I'll catch up with comments tomorrow between my pilates class and an appointment with the dermatologist.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.