Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Kibbeling!

Today we drove to Spakenburg (see map) which by car is only about 15 minutes, including a wee one minute ferry crossing. But many many years ago we did it on bikes! My abiding memory is of us pedalling for hours, tears in my eyes caused not entirely by the constant wind in our faces - there and back!! I must have been fit in those days...

Spakenburg is famous for the older women dressing up in traditional costume. Today, market day, the place should have been swarming with them. But there were none to be seen.

We walked around looking at the big old boats, many for sale, (€60,000, apparently) then had a nose around in the old wharf area where they were fixing boats up. While T & W were chatting to an old sailor, I had a wee illicit poke around in the old workshop and took lots of photos of the interesting wee corners full of junk vital bits and pieces.

We then had kibbeling for lunch - little deep fried bits of the freshest cod. After lunch, we were sitting on a bench, having an ice cream, when T suddenly shouted, 'I see one!!'

Yes! There was a woman in traditional dress approaching. I was mid-ice cream, and so couldn't speak to her, let alone take a photo. So I followed her until I had finished it. She stopped to chat to someone. I lurked nearby. She moved on, but was quickly joined by another person, so I followed even further. She walked quite fast, as she had a bag from the same fish shop we'd had lunch in, and was obviously hurrying home. When they eventually went their different directions, I pounced! So I HAD to include her today, she was such an effort!

The top photo is a close up of part of a hull. The wooden plugs are still to be sanded down, but I rather liked the pattern.

There's a place where dogs play near T's house, and I heard barking this morning. I might pop over, as I have found lots of kibble in my gillet pocket...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.