Wet Weekend

.... and we're loving it!  

Much needed rain for the allotment and garden.  Also this forces me to get on with jobs indoors, no bad thing.  

Phyteuma scheuzeri - don't bother trying to pronounce it, just sneeze it!  It's a member of the Campanulaceae, the bellflowers, but in Phyteuma the petals are joined at the tips as well as the base.  The common name for Phyteuma is Rampion, which set me wondering why?  This is what I found:  Late 16th century: from a variant of medieval Latin rapuncium; compare with German Rapunzel'lamb's lettuce'.  The common name is Rampion, a name shared with the related plant Campanula rapunculus. Rampion features prominently in some versions of the fairy tale Rapunzel. In the version collected by the Brothers Grimm, it is said that "rapunzel" is the name given to a local variety of rampion.


I raised my plants from seed obtained through the AGS seed exchange.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.