Kisimul Castle

This was the view of Kisimul Castle that greeted me this morning as I peeked out the bedroom window just as it was getting light.
His Lordship and I have taken an inordinate number of photos of the castle, but this one, and one I took last night with the setting sun transforming the grey stone into gold, are the two I like best.

It was several more hours from taking this blip before we set out. It was Sabbath quiet as we climbed up the road to the glen, even the wind seemed to be observing the day. The only sound we heard was the insistent call of a cuckoo in the trees at the side of the road. Although the sun beat down and we got hot climbing, the air still felt cool when we stopped for breath, but nothing like the cold we experienced in Lewis.

By the time we got back to the coast, the wind had freshened, the sun had escaped behind a cloud and my anorak hood was up. We did find some rocks to sit on out of the wind to admire the view of Vatersay over a sea of deep blue streaked with turquoise.

It's on a day like today with no buses running, that a set of wheels would have been good to get further afield, but I balk at renting a hire bike which I find never fits someone vertically challenged.

We are thinking about taking a taxi to the Barra Beach Hotel for a diversion.......or not.
You have to love that name, it smacks of some crowded Spanish holiday destination rather than an intersting but modest one storey hotel set beside a beautiful and deserted beach.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.