Heartsease

After more sorting, which seems to be a never-ending and rather weighty task, I decided to come out for some air, the weather looked better over in the west and I wanted to see if the mountain pansies were out on Sale Fell ... at first I thought I was going to be disappointed but then as I approached the summit there were lots ... a real joy to see. Here are a couple looking across Bassenthwaite towards Skiddaw which wasn't coming out to play today remaining firmly under cloud.

The extra blip is of St.Bega's and Mirehouse (and the Garden Hall where we spent our wedding day) ... in the distance, on the opposite shore, just above the right viola!

from Ode: Intimations of Immortality - William Wordsworth

The clouds that gather round the setting sun
 Do take a sober colouring from an eye
 That hath kept watch o'er man's mortality;
 Another race hath been, and other palms are won.
 Thanks to the human heart by which we live,
 Thanks to its tenderness, its joys, and fears,
 To me the meanest flower that blows can give
 Thoughts that do often lie too deep for tears.
 

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.