Nancy and the dough machine

I've never been one of those types who can do their 'weekly shopping'; I end up going to the shops most days. Consequently, when I've been away travelling, it's always a bit of a lottery as to just what food there will be in the cottage and what state the milk will be in. (Although, interestingly, I find that the raw milk goes off in a way that doesn't render it undrinkable.)

This morning, then, there was no food in the house, so we decided to go out for breakfast. In my book, there are just two choices for breakfast in Kirkby Lonsdale: The Royal and the bakery. The Royal's your place for breakfasts along the lines of Eggs Florentine although their full English isn't bad. Plus, The Royal is lighter than the rather cosy bakery, so I tend to prefer that in the summer.

Today, though, was one of those rare occasions - for Kirkby Lonsdale, anyway - when it was warm enough to eat outside, and the bakery does have a courtyard, which The Royal doesn't. (And, actually, their full English is the best.) So, this morning, the Minx, Dan, Abi, and I took our breakfast al fresco

In the courtyard, they have this old machine, which I guess mixed up the dough, which was then squirted out in blobs, just like in Wallace and Gromit. I thought it would make a nice photo but it felt a bit rude to ask Dan and Abi to move out of the way, so I left them in the shot. In the picture, Abi is concentrating on her script for 'Oliver, with a Twist', the school play in which she's playing the role of Nancy. I was concerned that the Minx would attempt to voice coach Abi, but it appears that, Zelig-like, the Minx's cockney accent only kicks in when she's actually in London.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.