Hypnotized...

By RLJ

Porsche 7

There were at least 7 people (maybe more) in this tuk tuk this morning as I drove to work. Lots of laughs from them as my taxi crawled by them in the traffic & I took their photos.
Another day of plumbing problems and no water whatsoever! I came home at lunchtime to let in a neighbour, (a retired doctor & professor), an ironing man and an electrician - to sort out a plumbing problem... (Maybe that's why my plumbing never gets fixed... Hehe).
I had to leave them all in the flat together as I went back to work.
In the evening a group of us decided to go to Rooftop bar for a final drink before Ramadan begins on Thursday. We had been waiting for a long time for a taxi. Traffic had been strange today as well as several incidents in the city due to the sentencing of Morsi today.
Then a big black 4x4 blacked out Porsche Cayenne pulled up, windows went down and the guy driving said "Hey Bexie, jump in with your friends... You'll never get a taxi tonight!!" Who was this guy?!! We were all taken aback a little at what was happening as we knew the city was 'strange' today and we knew I had never seen this guy before! My friend asked how he knew my name... As it turned out he said I had taught his brother (who in the end he admitted was actually just his friend) last term and he had spoken to him about me and ... yeah, my guess is thanks to social media etc etc... Etc!
Anyway, we all jumped in and got a fun ride to Zamalek. Yasser, the driver, then got his 'brother' on his car phone on loud speaker to tell him that he had 'Bexie' & her friends in the car... So I said hello and a brief chat. I was now able to recognise my student as being a journalist who owns one of Egypt's most famous newspapers. He had flown with Putin in his private jet last month to the 100th year Anniversary of the Armenian Genocide and stayed with Putin during his trip. My student had kindly brought me back some gifts, pictures and table mats from Armenia.
Meanwhile... When we finally got to Rooftop our other friends were waiting for us. They had also had a night of it... In a friend's car they had crashed into an armoured police van... All uninjured but the car less so... Apparently the police were very nice and attempted to stick, and tie the front of the car back on... Only in Egypt!!
Needless to say, everyone enjoyed a good drink!!
Ps... I came home to water! Success!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.