Year Three

By RobotChicken

Martina Sáblíková

Well, another Olympic champion today, actually, this woman has won all sorts of competitions in speed skating apparently. Bit of a force to be reckoned with.

And a keen cyclist, although I have to say....Stelvio seemed to be kicking her butt as I've seen a lot faster up the mountain.

Anyway, I know this because her father stopped to tell me. Which was nice.

Lots of Czechs around these days.

Got the worst badly behaved cyclist this year come down shortly after this was taken. He cussed me out, middle finger firmly pointed out at me.

I deducted that the language he was speaking was devoid of vowels, so he was either Welsh, Russian or Czech. I went with Czech.

As he past me, my reply bounced down the pass like a verbal handgrenade. It was only four words, and thankfully to artists like The Beatles and Lady Gaga, the average European understands.

It was very interesting as he translated my reply, that verbal hand grenade.

As the hand grenade reached him, he comprehended the final word of encouragement that I had thrown at him.

His bike visibly shook with fury as the verbal handgrenade exploded.

I deduced two things.

1. He was Czech.
2. Czechs don't like being called Slovaks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.