Sun. Woman. Man.

In the afternoon, bored of the hut, dusty town, I took a bus to the next hot, dusty town. I gave the driver a banknote and waited, awkwardly, until it became clear that she wasn't intending to give me any change.

After getting off the bus, I sat at a table in the shade and, using my entire vocabulary, ordered a coffee.

In front of me, a short woman with completely black skin greeted a thin man with unnaturally red hair under a small, black hat. They kissed each other twice - once on each cheek - and then began talking loudly. The woman spoke very rapidly, and started hitting the man on his shoulder with her open hand - as if to emphasise certain points. He tried to respond, arms out, palms up, but could not find a way to interrupt the flood of words. The woman finished talking, kissed the man on each cheek again and walked away.

The man saw me watching and shrugged before pushing his hat to the back of his head and walking off in the opposite direction.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.