Flowerpower's journal

By Flowerpower

School days

In a months time there will be a reunion at my old school celebrating twenty years since we were released into the world and deemed fit to mingle with society. Twenty years?! Seriously, am I really that old? There are lots of pictures going round on fb and people reminiscing, so I decided to have a rootle and find some of my old school stuff. Here you can see my old school tie and my revolting brown house tie (Langley), plus my report in which I am described as 'a delight'! The  badge was given to all of us on the day the school celebrated it's centenary. I was seven years old, but I can still remember queuing up for the free ice cream from an ice cream van which was parked in the school car park on that day. 

Without my Geography teacher encouraging me to apply to be part of a British Schools Exploring Society Expedition to Zimbabwe when I was seventeen, I would never have experienced camping under the milky way, dodging hippos, climbing trees to avoid elephants and white water rafting down the Zambezi with some fantastic people.

For some school is a nightmare, boring, and a drag. For others it is their saving grace and that is what it was for me. I was surrounded by some lovely teachers and great friends. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.