dennismccoy79

By dennismccoy79

Alignment and Azimuth

Not two titans from Greek mythology, but the twin banes of my day.  Having suffered an ever degrading satellite picture that was sleet a month ago, snow a week ago and a blizzard yesterday, I decided to tackle a bit of dish retightening and fine adjustment.  The satellite finder gizmo gave an expectedly limp signal to begin with but proved ever eager as I turned the dish just a little to the west.  Bingo, I thought, perfect, as it buzzed excitedly and swung its little needle right across the gauge.  Sure enough, the diagnostics on the dish said 100% signal strength and 90% quality.  I retuned the box with smug satisfaction.  Two hundred and fifty one channels, WOW.  I tried one, ZDF TV.  I tried another, Cologne TV, another one, Bayern TV.  Oops.  Another bit of figuring, a Google search, a phone call.  Maybe I drifted a bit too far to the west.  Just drift back again, you say.  Not as simple as that.  It took me three hours to find the right swivel to the east, the correct twist and tilt for the LNB (azimuth to you) and suddenly (three hours later), there it was; "A Place In The Sun Home or Away",  80% strength, 75% signal quality.   Okay, Jasmine, those are perfect properties as far as I'm concerned!  Lock it down, time for a gin and tonic!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.