Life Songs

By TenorSong

Let children be children

I went to the dress rehearsal for Newtongrange Childrens Gala this evening, a thoroughly exhausting event!

I have never seen so much effort and pride put in to a gala in my life (except for maybe that jubilee thingy last week). The band plays ceremonial music while at least 30 kids practise their ceremony in preparation for tomorrow.

Because it's such a prestigious event, all the girls obviously want to look their best but this has resulted in increasingly expensive and (too, in my opinion) grown up dresses.

This year, however, it seems to have toned down and for me, this little girl looked exactly like a flower girl at a gala should look. It made me smile.

I think it will be very wet smiles tomorrow, weather forecast isn't good but Newtongrange Children's Gala NEVER gets cancelled!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.