Riverside Festival

The best day of the weekend weatherwise so we decided to go to the Riverside Festival on the River Soar.
Parked up at the football ground and walked up along the towpath. Decorated boats aplenty on the water. The floating bookshop, tea room, barge trips...it was packed. Came across this lovely lady doing the traditional craft of barge painting. Anything that can be painted is decorated in the traditional style with castles and roses. Watering cans, coal buckets, pots and pans...she was doing horse shoes here in between decorating the coal bucket on the table. A lot of the items she had on the roof of her barge to sell.
I asked her about the technique involved and she told me that it was known as `art for those people who can`t draw` it`s quite simple to do and I think I might even have a go myself.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.