The Red Lichtie

By kaz125

Auntie Lizzies Close

When the St Johns Shopping Centre was built in the 1980's one of the more unusual features was this small entrance off Scott Street which means that you can get into the shopping centre from 4 different directions and don't have to walk round to one of the much larger entrances. 
In my family though this entrance always has been known as Auntie Lizzie's Close. My Great Aunt lived in one of the flats in Scott Street and this was the close you used to go down to go upstairs to the flat. I imagine the flat is much changed now, what I remember of it there were 2 huge square rooms which were the Kitchen and Living room and 2 smaller bedrooms. There was no toilet or bath in the flat. To get to the 'facilities' you had to go out the front door into the tiled passageway that Auntie Lizzie and the flat next to her shared and use the shared bathroom.
I can't remember when Auntie Lizzie died but I must have been quite young and it was well before the shopping centre was built in her close but I still have vivid memories of her flat.

The close is still used to access the above shop flats but there is a big iron gate which slides across the steps so shoppers aren't tempted to go upstairs.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.