momcat1

By momcat1

A banded hairstreak

I took a while to get this as it was breezy and I am again attempting to do macrophotography with a telephoto. It  poured on and off all day too, so it's a bit surpassing that I had a difficult time choosing which photo to put up. I settled for this one because it was the hardest to get. The green smudges a leaf that blew in front of the butterfly just as I took this. Banded hairstreaks are part of the Gossamer (not related to Gossamer in the Bugs Bunny cartoons, no sneakers) wing family of butterflies and apparently like milkweed and yarrow. It was on neither of those though and seemed quite happy. I had to laugh as the description of it's behavior was erratic flight patterns. I thought that described most butterfly flight patterns! The extras are the runners up: 1) A myriad of mergansers , Momma and 8! babies getting into the creek even though it was pretty fast and high water , and 2) A very soggy bird, which is some sort of sparrow though I can't see enough of the chest to figure out what it was.Some birder I am!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.