Local Windmill 'De Hoop' (The Hope), Rozenburg

The staggering number of windmills in the province of Zuid Holland (South Holland) never fails to amaze me.  Noord Brabant (there is no Zuid Brabant) is loads larger but I don't think it has as many.  I still bemoan the fact that there isn't any where I live.  All the more reason to hit the road when I want to see one.

Because of the soaring temps, I thought I would detour again and avoid the usual highways.  Traffic jams everywhere and on Fridays they tend to start earlier than the usual rush hour.  Today, though, I left at 18.15, together with a colleague who'd lost his keys, so I had to wait for him so that I could lock up the room.  My wanderlust brought me to Rozenburg where I knew there was one, and, sure enough, it was peanuts to spot.  Very often, all one has to do is drive towards the city centre, and anway, if there is one, it'll more often than not tower over the rest of the structures.  If all else fails, you can always ask.

Another hot day.  Tomorrow, the Tour de France will kick off in Utrecht -- we are proud to have been allowed to host the 'Grand Depart' this year.  For a country known for its bicycles and cycling lanes, a real thrill.  I doubt we'll be headed north, though.  Certainly not in this heat.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.