Hobbs's Run

By hobbs

Govetts Leap Lookout

Now this is still in the Blue Mountains although it is in quite a different place from that shown in my last entry of March 5. Here we see part of the Govetts Leap Lookout which overlooks the Grose Valley. The explanation around here is that "leap" is a Scottish word for "waterfall" one of which thunders 100 metres or so into the valley just to the right of this picture. You can't see it just at the moment. (frustrating isn't it?)

Apparently Govett was a government surveyor in the early days of the New South Wales colony. I suppose he must have been Scottish. Anyway the waterfall is named after him.

Not that you can tell (who am I kidding?) but this is an HDR blend of three exposures which I thought worked a lot better than any of the single images I shot. Hope you like it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.