Surprise appearance

Some time ago, a little green caterpillar fell out of the flat-leaved parsley I'd bought for Rosie. Not really expecting it to survive, I put it into a plastic container with some of the leaves it had fallen from and against all expectations, it continued to feed on them and grew into a bigger version.

On the 29th June, it eventually disappeared from view by wrapping some of the leaves, which I'd kept feeding it, around itself for its final transformation. I'd been unable to identify it as a caterpillar and wondered what it would be when it reappeared, if at all. Even though I frequently checked the container for any change, it still managed to surprise me when it finally emerged 9 days later as a Silver Y moth.

After taking a couple of photos of the moth, I took it downstairs to release it. I hope I left it in a dry enough spot because it was just starting to rain at that moment.

Many thanks for the kind comments, stars and heart on yesterday's blip of Rosie.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.