CarolineJay

By CarolineJay

A FRIEND

A little strange for today's challenge entry, perhaps, but these little pals have taken away the dread and misery of migraine since my GP put me onto them about 12 years ago. From the time I was about 13 I would lose three days or more every month to horrible wipeout-headpounding-eyehurting-can't-eat-or-drink-throwing-up migraines. Every hangover, long drive, smoky room, post-cold-catarrh, first day of holiday and lots of other things would trigger one. I was in the habit of taking strong painkillers at the merest hint of a muzzy head in case it got worse, or even to try to stop them before they started, and I lived in dread of any situation, event or job being ruined by a migraine. It was like a black cloud always on the horizon.

And then these happened, and knowing that I may feel crap when I take one, but I'll feel much better within four hours has taken away so much of the stress (which was also a contributory factor) that these days I barely think about them. In fact half a tablet works for me and though a couple of times a year I may get a migraine which ruins most of a day, I can't remember the last time I had a full-on bastard attack. Getting older has helped, I know, but sadly a hangover will still turn into something worse so has to be avoided. :-(

So, I hope you don't find my interpretation unacceptable, but something that has improved my life so much (and all my sisters' too, since we're all sufferers - thanks, Dad) is a friend as far as I'm concerned.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.